Household Items and Supplies · Canada
Home Depot vs RONA vs Home Hardware vs Canadian Tire: Which Saves More on Household Basics?
Light bulbs, furnace filters, caulk, and a mop are the purchases that should be boring. They are not the same price in every town, and the loyalty programs attached to them are not the same program. This page compares the policies that could be read on 26 September 2026. It does not rank a national winner, because a matched basket was not priced.
Who still price-matches is the household price-match guide. Canadian Tire's sale habits are the sale-cycle guide. What an LED does to the hydro bill is the bulb guide. Only the purchase price belongs here.
Key takeaways
- Home Depot's page, read 26 Sep 2026, matches a lower price. It does not describe an extra 10 percent. A February 2026 end-date was not on that page.
- Kent's FAQ, read the same day, still beats a lower regular price by 10 percent and matches an advertised sale price, with online prices excluded.
- Home Hardware Scene+, retrieved 26 Sep 2026: 50 points per $50 before tax and delivery. Canadian Tire base CT Money is 0.4 percent.
- No bulb, filter, caulk, and mop basket was priced at all four, so this guide does not crown a cheapest chain.
- RONA inc., 22 Jun 2023: Lowe's stores converting to RONA+, and the network includes corporate and affiliated dealer stores.
Who's who in Canadian hardware retail in 2026 (Home Depot, RONA/RONA+, Home Hardware, Canadian Tire, Kent in Atlantic Canada)
Home Depot Canada's price-guarantee page speaks as The Home Depot and does not hand the offer to independent dealers. That is all this draft will say about its ownership. The page was read 26 September 2026. RONA inc.'s release in Boucherville on 22 June 2023 says the network operates or services some 425 corporate and affiliated dealer stores under the Lowe's, RONA, Réno-Dépôt, and Dick's Lumber banners, and that Lowe's stores being converted will carry the RONA+ banner. Conversions were to start at the end of July 2023, beginning with ten Ontario stores the release names. Warranties offered by Lowe's would be honoured, and gift cards would still be accepted, in that transition note.
Home Hardware's homepage, opened 26 September 2026, calls itself Canada's largest dealer-owned and operated home improvement retailer. Canadian Tire's site says its stores are owned and operated by independent associate dealers, and the pricing policy says those dealers may sell for less. Kent's site, opened the same day, addresses Atlantic Canada: the homepage line is "We're Your Atlantic Canadian Team," and the FAQ says Kent gift cards can be redeemed at retail locations across Atlantic Canada. A Lowe's sign that is now RONA+ is that 2023 conversion, not a U.S. policy you can still quote.
Price-match policies compared, including Home Depot's 2026 change
Home Depot's live page will match a current lower advertised price on an identical, new, in-stock item from a local Canadian retailer or a Canadian online-only retailer. Proof at the store is a flyer, a printout, a website link, or a photo. The page does not offer an extra 10 percent off that matched price. It also says you cannot stack the match with a Home Depot coupon. A date in February 2026 for the end of an older extra 10 percent was not printed on the page, so this guide does not state one. The change you can verify is the sentence that is there now: a match, not a beat. Major appliances have a separate 30-day adjustment if Home Depot's own price drops, not if a competitor's does.
Kent's FAQ, read 26 September 2026, still says Kent will beat a lower regular price at a local competitor by 10 percent on an identical item it stocks, and will match any advertised sale price on identical in-stock items. The same answer excludes competitor online prices, clearance, close-outs, quotes, and bonus offers, among other lines. Canadian Tire's retrieved guarantee is a match inside 200 km, not a 10 percent beat; the day counts are on the sale-cycle and price-match guides. RONA's price-guarantee URL stopped at a security check. A retrieval the same day said RONA will meet a competitor's lower price on an identical new in-stock item, and that local affiliated dealers may reserve whether they offer it. The kilometre figure was not clear enough to reprint.
Loyalty: Scene+ at Home Hardware, CT Money at Canadian Tire, and what Home Depot/RONA offer
Home Hardware's Scene+ article, retrieved 26 September 2026, says you earn 50 Scene+ points for every $50 spent before taxes and delivery charges, in store or at homehardware.ca, at participating Home Hardware, Home Hardware Building Centre, Home Building Centre, and Home Furniture stores. The minimum purchase to earn is $50 before tax and delivery. Some products are excluded. Pro contractor purchases and house or charge accounts do not qualify. Points usually appear within 48 hours. Redemption on that page is 1,000 points for $10 off, in store or online. You can also redeem for Home Hardware gift cards in the Scene+ account. Linking the card is a separate help article: My Account, Loyalty Account, on homehardware.ca.
Canadian Tire's program text, opened the same day, uses a base rate of 0.4 percent, with bonus multipliers added to that base when an offer says so. Details and the household way to use them are the points guide. This draft did not open a Home Depot or RONA points earn rate, so it does not name one. Kent's FAQ describes the Kent Card as a store credit card with TD Financing Services, usable at Kent stores in Atlantic Canada and not, on that page, as payment on the website. That is financing. It is not a points program this guide will score. Do not buy a filter to collect points you have not activated.
Household basics price table: bulbs, furnace filters, caulk, mops
The second table is empty of dollars on purpose. Product pages for a matched LED bulb, a furnace filter, a tube of caulk, and a mop were not opened with a store and a date at Home Depot, RONA, Home Hardware, and Canadian Tire together. A single Kent tile for bird seed, seen while the homepage loaded, is not a household basic and is not used. Until you write four prices for the same SKU on the same day, there is no basket to chart.
| Item (write the exact model) | Home Depot | RONA / RONA+ | Home Hardware | Canadian Tire | Kent, if you are in Atlantic Canada |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| LED bulb, count and lumens | Not verified | Not verified | Not verified | Not verified | Not verified |
| Furnace filter, size on the old one | Not verified | Not verified | Not verified | Not verified | Not verified |
| Caulk, product name | Not verified | Not verified | Not verified | Not verified | Not verified |
| Mop or cleaner tool | Not verified | Not verified | Not verified | Not verified | Not verified |
Dealer-owned vs corporate stores: why prices vary town to town
Home Hardware's homepage states the dealer-owned model in one line. Canadian Tire's pricing policy says sale dates vary by region and dealers may sell for less, and need not match an online price before the regional sale starts. RONA's 22 June 2023 release describes both corporate and affiliated dealer stores, and the price-guarantee retrieval said affiliated independents may not apply the corporate match. A town with a dealer store is not required to mirror a corporate store's tile.
Home Depot's guarantee does not include that dealer reservation. That does not mean every Home Depot till shows the same number. It means the written offer this draft read is a company page, while the other three banners have put dealer discretion in writing. When you phone a price in, ask which store, and write the town next to the number. The Canadian Tire guide is the longer version of the dealer sentence for that banner.
| Retailer | Ownership note on a page opened | Price match | Loyalty this draft could cite | Returns |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Home Depot | Guarantee page does not reserve the offer to dealers | Match, not an extra 10 percent. Photo accepted. 30-day appliance adjustment is Home Depot's own price | No earn rate opened | Return window not opened |
| RONA / RONA+ | 22 Jun 2023: corporate and affiliated dealers. Lowe's conversions to RONA+ from end of July 2023 | Meet an identical new in-stock price, on a retrieval. Affiliated dealers may not apply it. Radius not reprinted | No earn rate opened | Most unused items 90 days. Major appliances: 30 days, original condition. Returns page retrieved 26 Sep 2026 |
| Home Hardware | Homepage: largest dealer-owned home improvement retailer | Not opened. Price page did not load | Scene+ 50 points per $50 before tax and delivery. 1,000 points equals $10 | Return page did not load |
| Canadian Tire | Associate dealers. May sell for less | Match within 200 km. 30 days, or 14 against another Canadian Tire. Text retrieved; direct fetch 403 | CT Money base 0.4 percent, plus offers that say they stack | 90 days if unopened with receipt. Clearance is final. Electronics categories 30 days |
| Kent | Atlantic Canada, on the homepage and the gift-card FAQ | Beat a lower regular price by 10 percent. Match an advertised sale. Competitor online prices excluded | Kent Card is store financing, not a points rate this guide will quote | 90 days with receipt. After appliance delivery: 90 days, refund less delivery fees, 25 percent restocking. Cancel at least 48 hours before delivery; a 25 percent fee may apply |
When to pay a bit more for local service and returns
Pay the higher shelf when the cheaper one fails a test you can name. The return window is unusable. The filter size is wrong. The caulk is a different product. Delivery wipes out the gap. Kent's FAQ says most Kent delivery orders are a flat $50 and are delivered within 50 km of the chosen store, with extra fees beyond that, and that a Kent associate will call before those extras. That $50 is a service price, not a product price. An appliance return after Kent delivery, on the return page, is within 90 days, in original condition, refunded less delivery fees, with a 25 percent restocking fee. A cheaper appliance that costs a quarter of its price to send back is not cheaper if you might return it.
A dealer store that will reorder a part and a corporate store that will not are different services. This draft did not price that difference, so it does not invent an hourly rate. If the gap on a mop is a dollar and the nearer store is the one you can return to, buy the mop. If the gap on a pallet of filters is large and both stores will take an unopened case back, buy the cheaper case and keep the receipt. The receipt rules are the return-policy guide.
Sources & date stamps
- Home Depot Canada price guarantee, read 26 Sep 2026: match an identical new in-stock price; flyer, printout, link, or photo; no extra 10 percent described; coupon does not stack; 30-day major-appliance adjustment on Home Depot's own price.
- Kent FAQ and return policy, read 26 Sep 2026: 10 percent beat on a lower regular price; match an advertised sale; online competitor prices excluded. Returns 90 days. Appliance restocking 25 percent after delivery. Most Kent delivery $50 within 50 km.
- RONA inc., Boucherville, 22 Jun 2023: RONA+ conversions of Lowe's stores from the end of July 2023; about 425 corporate and affiliated stores. rona.ca returns, retrieved 26 Sep 2026: 90 days for most unused items; major appliances 30 days. Price-guarantee URL: security check; meet-the-price wording from a same-day retrieval.
- homehardware.ca homepage, 26 Sep 2026: dealer-owned. Scene+ Home Hardware help, retrieved 26 Sep 2026: 50 points per $50; 1,000 points for $10.
- canadiantire.ca pricing policy and returns, and the marks.com guarantee text, 26 Sep 2026: dealers may sell for less; 200 km match; 90-day unopened returns.
- No verified prices for bulbs, filters, caulk, or mops.
Frequently asked questions
Which hardware store is cheapest for household basics in Canada?
No national winner. This draft did not verify a bulb, filter, caulk, and mop basket at Home Depot, RONA, Home Hardware, and Canadian Tire on the same date, so it does not print a basket total. The cheapest store is the one with the lowest out-the-door price on the identical product in your town, after any eco fee. Dealer-owned banners can differ by location even when the logo matches.
Does Home Depot still beat competitors' prices?
The Home Depot Canada page read 26 Sep 2026 says it will match a current lower advertised price on an identical, new, in-stock item. It does not describe an extra 10 percent off that price. A February 2026 date for the end of an older extra 10 percent was not on that page, so this guide does not state one. Kent's FAQ, read the same day, still says Kent will beat a lower regular price by 10 percent and will match an advertised sale price.
What happened to Lowe's stores in Canada?
RONA inc., writing from Boucherville on 22 June 2023, said Lowe's stores being converted would carry the new RONA+ banner, with conversions starting at the end of July 2023. The first ten stores named were in Ontario. The same release said warranties offered by Lowe's would be honoured and gift cards would still be accepted. The network it described includes both corporate and affiliated dealer stores.
Why do Home Hardware prices vary by town?
The Home Hardware homepage, opened 26 Sep 2026, calls the chain Canada's largest dealer-owned and operated home improvement retailer. A dealer sets the shelf in that town. Canadian Tire's pricing policy says associate dealers may sell for less, which is the same kind of gap under a different logo.
Which hardware stores have loyalty programs?
Home Hardware: the Scene+ article retrieved 26 Sep 2026 says 50 points per $50 before taxes and delivery, and 1,000 points for $10 off, at participating stores. Canadian Tire: CT Money at a 0.4 percent base, plus bonus offers that have their own rules. This draft did not open a Home Depot or RONA points earn rate, so it does not name one. Kent's FAQ describes a Kent Card as store financing, which is not a points rate this page will rank.