Personal Care · Canada

Senior Discount Days and Pharmacy Promotions for Personal Care in Canada

A seniors' day saves money only when you know the age, the weekday, and the exclusions before you make the trip. A percent you remember from a neighbour, or a points multiplier you assume still runs, is not a plan. This page does not quote a standing seniors percent for Shoppers Drug Mart, Rexall, Jean Coutu, or London Drugs. Where this guide does not quote a page, the cell says see the store. Shoppers beauty points are the Shoppers guide. How points work across the program is the PC Optimum guide. Points on prescriptions are the pharmacy points guide. Costs that change at 65 are the turning-65 guide. Store-brand toiletries are the store-brand guide.

Key takeaways

  • Rexall's site lists a page called Seniors' Tuesday. Read it for the age, the day, and the exclusions. This guide does not quote a percent from it.
  • Shoppers Drug Mart's homepage, checked 29 Sep 2026, did not state a standing seniors percent. Check the current flyer and the in-store offer. Do not rely on a remembered Thursday.
  • Jean Coutu and London Drugs: see the store. No seniors rule from those banners is copied here.
  • PC Optimum's benefits table says every 10,000 points is like $10, and Shoppers base earn is 15 points per dollar. A seniors day and a points day are different levers. They may not stack.
  • The chart uses a made-up 10 percent and a made-up 20-times multiplier on a made-up $100 basket. Only the redemption rate and the 15-point base are from the benefits table.

Which retailers run senior days (verify at draft)

The task is the heading. For each banner you use, write the age, the day of the week or the specific date, whether the offer is a percent off or a points bonus, and where you read it. A footer link is not the offer. Rexall's Be Well page, checked 29 Sep 2026, includes a link titled Seniors' Tuesday, at rexall.ca/seniors-tuesday. Read that page at the store or on the site before you travel. This guide does not state an age or a discount for it.

Shoppers Drug Mart's homepage, checked the same day, showed a 20-times points offer on a $75 beauty spend ending 1 October, and an in-store Moredays window of 1 to 7 October marked coming soon. It did not, in the text of that page, state a seniors' age or a seniors' percent. Treat any seniors line as unpublished here until you see it on the current flyer or the in-store offer page. Jean Coutu and London Drugs are see-the-store rows. A blog that names a weekday is not a substitute for the banner's page.

Write the next date on a calendar the household shares. A caregiver who shops on the wrong weekday has paid full price plus the trip. If the offer is one advertised date rather than every week, copy that date, not a habit.

Points vs percent-off

A percent-off day reduces the price on the receipt, usually on regular-priced goods the offer names, and usually with exclusions. A points day leaves the price alone and adds points you redeem later. They are not interchangeable. PC Optimum's benefits table, checked 29 Sep 2026, says every 10,000 points is like $10 of free stuff at Shoppers and at the grocery banners in that column, and it prints 15 points per dollar as the Shoppers base on eligible products. One point at that redemption is worth one tenth of a cent. Fifteen points on a dollar are worth 1.5 cents, before any multiplier.

Example with made-up inputs. The basket is a made-up $100 of eligible goods. A made-up 10 percent off is $10 at the till. You pay $90, before tax, inside this example. A made-up 20-times multiplier on the verified base of 15 points per dollar is 300 points per dollar. On $100 that is 30,000 points. At 10,000 points like $10, those points are like $30, if you redeem them at that rate and the offer really is 20 times the base. The 10 percent and the 20 times are made up. They are not a Shoppers seniors day and not the 1 October homepage offer. The homepage offer was a points line with its own end date, and this chart does not claim it was 20 times 15. The bars differ because the made-up inputs differ. Your flyer replaces both inputs.

What's excluded

Exclusions are the difference between a basket you planned and a basket the offer covers. Prescriptions, tobacco, lottery, gift cards, and prepaid cards are common exclusions on pharmacy promotions generally. This guide does not copy an exclusion list for a seniors day, because it is not quoting one from a current seniors page. See the store. Prescription rewards are restricted in several provinces. The rules, and why a front-shop bonus is a different question from a prescription, are the pharmacy points guide. Do not assume a seniors cosmetic discount applies at the dispensary counter.

Personal-care items in the front shop, such as a store-brand moisturiser or a shampoo, are the ones to test against the offer you read. The store-brand guide is the product comparison. A seniors day does not make a large bottle cheaper if you will not finish it. Tax may or may not be inside the percent. Read the line. GST or HST on the reduced price is still tax.

Stacking with sales

Stacking is allowed only when both offers say so. A percent off regular price often excludes sale merchandise. A points multiplier often excludes the same sale goods, or it does not combine with another points offer. The PC Optimum benefits table lists base earn, product bonus points, points events, and personalized offers as separate rows. That layout is a warning, not permission to add them. Read the seniors offer and the sale tag together. If they conflict, price the basket twice: once with the seniors offer on eligible regular-priced items, once with the sale price and whatever points still print. Take the lower amount you will actually pay, after dropping products you will not use.

A gift-with-purchase is a third offer. Keep it only if you would use the gift, which is the method on the Shoppers beauty guide. Points you already hold are a fourth lever, on the redemption guide. Redeeming points on a day when the price is already reduced can be wise or wasteful. Do the dollars.

Caregivers shopping for parents

The offer usually follows the person it names. If it requires the senior's card, a caregiver's card may not qualify. Ask before you fill the basket. Rexall's Be Well page, checked 29 Sep 2026, says the program can help you manage prescriptions for loved ones in your care, including pets, and it points to a caregivers page. That is a pharmacy-management feature. It is not a statement that a caregiver receives Seniors' Tuesday pricing. Read the seniors page separately.

Bring the identification the store asks for, and the loyalty card the offer names. If you shop without the person, confirm the store will apply the offer to your purchase. A refused discount after the trip is a full-price basket. Health costs that change at 65, including public drug coverage, are the turning-65 guide. A toiletry discount is not that coverage. This page is not benefits advice.

What to copy from each pharmacy's own page. A blank means this guide is not quoting a rule. See the store. Checked 29 Sep 2026.
Banner Age Day Discount or points Exclusions
Shoppers Drug Mart See store See the current flyer. Not stated on the homepage text checked 29 Sep 2026 See store. Do not invent a percent. Base PC Optimum earn, separate from any seniors offer, is 15 points per dollar on the benefits table See store. Prescriptions are a different guide
Rexall See Seniors' Tuesday on rexall.ca The link is titled Seniors' Tuesday. Confirm the day on that page See that page. Be Well base on its own page is 10 points per dollar and 25,000 points for $10, which is not a seniors rate See that page
Jean Coutu See store See store See store See store
London Drugs See store See store See store See store
Example with made-up inputs. Method for a percent-off day versus a points multiplier. The 10 percent and the 20-times factor are made up. The 15 points per dollar and the $10 per 10,000 points are from the PC Optimum benefits table checked 29 Sep 2026.
Lever What you write down Made-up $100 illustration
Percent-off day The percent, what it applies to, and what is excluded Made-up 10 percent of $100 is $10 off. You pay $90 before tax in this example
Points multiplier Times which base, on which products, and whether it stacks with a sale Made-up 20 times 15 points is 300 points per dollar. On $100 that is 30,000 points, like $30 at the table's redemption rate
Your flyer Replace both made-up inputs. Drop items you will not use Leave blank until the offer is in your hand
Example with made-up inputs: value of a made-up 100 dollar basket under a made-up percent off versus a made-up points multiplier.
Example with made-up inputs. A made-up 10 percent off a made-up $100 basket is $10. A made-up 20-times multiplier on the verified 15 points per dollar is like $30 at 10,000 points equals $10. Not a seniors-day rate.

Sources & date stamps

  • PC Optimum program benefits table, PDF on pcoptimum.ca, checked 29 Sep 2026. Shoppers base 15 points per dollar on eligible products. Every 10,000 points is like $10.
  • Shoppers Drug Mart homepage, checked 29 Sep 2026. A 20-times points offer on $75 of cosmetics, fragrances, skin care, and beauty tools, ending 1 October. No seniors age or seniors percent was in that page's text. See the current flyer.
  • Rexall Be Well, rexall.ca/bewell, checked 29 Sep 2026. 10 points per $1 and 25,000 points equal $10. The page links to Seniors' Tuesday. This guide does not quote a seniors percent from that link. Caregiver prescription tools are described on the Be Well page and are not a seniors price.
  • Jean Coutu and London Drugs: see the store. No seniors rule is copied here.
  • The 10 percent, the 20-times factor, and the $100 basket are made-up inputs.

Frequently asked questions

Which pharmacies have seniors' discount days?

Read the page for the banner you use. Rexall's site links to a page titled Seniors' Tuesday, and Shoppers Drug Mart's homepage, checked 29 Sep 2026, did not state a seniors percent, so use the current flyer. Jean Coutu and London Drugs are see-the-store until you read their pages. A weekday you remember is not a source, so copy the date the store prints.

What age do I need to be?

The age is on the offer, and it can differ by banner. This guide does not state an age, because it is not quoting one from a current seniors page. Bring the identification the store asks for, and a caregiver's age does not replace the senior's if the offer names the senior. Ask before you shop.

What's excluded from seniors' days?

See the store. This guide does not copy an exclusion list, and prescriptions, tobacco, lottery, and gift cards are often outside ordinary pharmacy promotions, which is a reason to read the offer rather than a list you can rely on here. Prescription points are restricted in several provinces, and that topic is the pharmacy points guide. A front-shop toiletry is a different line from the dispensary.

Is a points day better than a discount day?

Whichever leaves you paying less for products you will use. Example with made-up inputs: 10 percent off a made-up $100 basket is $10, and a made-up 20-times multiplier on 15 points per dollar is like $30 if you redeem at 10,000 points like $10. Those two inputs are made up, and the redemption rate is from the PC Optimum benefits table. Your flyer replaces the example.

Can I combine a seniors' day with other offers?

Only when both offers say they apply together. A percent off regular price often skips sale goods, and a points event may not stack with another points offer. Price the basket both ways and keep the lower total after you drop what you will not use, and points you already hold are a separate decision, on the redemption guide. Do not assume a gift with purchase stacks.

More Personal Care guides Next: Store-brand toiletries