Personal Care · Canada

Sephora Beauty Insider vs PC Optimum vs Rexall Be Well for Beauty Shoppers

A beauty loyalty program is worth the wallet space when the points you will actually redeem, at the rate in that program's terms, beat the effort of carrying the card. It is not worth it because three apps are free to join. This page compares Sephora Beauty Insider, PC Optimum at Shoppers Drug Mart, and Rexall Be Well using the terms that could be read, and it does not rank them. Shoppers beauty events are the Shoppers guide. Earning across groceries is the PC Optimum guide. Holding points for a redemption event is the banking guide. PC Optimum beside other grocery programs is PC Optimum, Scene+, and Moi.

Disclosure: Discounted retailer gift cards are an offer type. Saving Optimizer may earn a commission if a partner link is added later. No gift-card partnership is claimed. A discount on a card is not a points rate. Education only.

Key takeaways

  • Beauty Insider terms, last updated 14 March 2024, credit one point per Canadian dollar of merchandise. Beauty Insider Cash is $10 off for 500 points. Points expire after 12 months without a purchase or a redemption.
  • The PC Optimum benefits table, checked 29 Sep 2026, shows 15 points per dollar at Shoppers on eligible products, and every 10,000 points like $10. That is 1.5 cents back per dollar at the base rate, before any event.
  • Rexall's Be Well page, checked 29 Sep 2026, says 10 points per dollar spent and 25,000 points equal $10 in redeemable cash value. Expiry is not on that page. See program terms.
  • On a made-up $300 of eligible beauty spend, those base rates return $6, $4.50, and $1.20. The spend is made up. The rates are the ones just cited. Events can change the result. This is not a ranking.
  • VIB is a $350 calendar-year spend and Rouge is $1,000, in the Beauty Insider terms. A Rouge Reward is a different redemption rate, with a 90-day clock and a forfeit rule.

How each program earns on beauty (verify current tiers)

Sephora's Beauty Insider terms, on the Canada terms page last updated 14 March 2024 and checked 29 Sep 2026, offer the program to customers in the United States and Canada. Membership is free. You must be 16 or older. There are three tiers. Everyone starts as an Insider. VIB requires a minimum spend of $350 on fulfilled merchandise in a calendar year, 1 January through 31 December. Rouge requires $1,000 in that same window. Status lasts through the qualifying year and the following calendar year, then you must requalify. All three tiers earn one Beauty Insider point per Canadian dollar spent on fulfilled merchandise when you shop in Canada. Gift cards, taxes, and shipping do not earn. You must give your registered email, phone, or digital card for the points to land. Cancelled orders lose the points.

PC Optimum at Shoppers is a different currency. The program benefits table checked 29 Sep 2026 prints a base of 15 points per dollar on eligible products at Shoppers Drug Mart, Pharmaprix, and beautyboutique.ca. Grocery banners on that table are marked as varying by province. Points events, including a 20-times offer type, are a separate row from base earn. The table's spend-and-get figures are labelled as examples, not as today's flyer. Shoppers Drug Mart's homepage, checked the same day, showed one live line: 20 times the points when you spend $75 or more on cosmetics, fragrances, skin care, and beauty tools, ending 1 October. Read the offer loaded in your account. A department-wide multiplier may not combine with another offer. The benefits table does not spell out a beauty-only exception. See the offer terms.

Rexall's Be Well page, checked 29 Sep 2026, says you earn 10 points for every $1 spent, and that 25,000 points equal $10 in redeemable cash value. The same page mentions earning with a linked RBC card on everyday essentials. That line depends on the linked-card terms, which are a different page. Do not turn the banner into a beauty earn rate. Expiry, tiers, and a list of excluded beauty items were not on the Be Well page checked 29 Sep 2026. Those cells say see program terms. Prescription points are a regulated question in several provinces. They belong on the pharmacy points guide, not in a cosmetics earn rate.

Redemption value per dollar

Beauty Insider points have no cash value except where Sephora expressly allows it. The terms describe Beauty Insider Cash as an instant $10 discount, in Canadian dollars when you redeem in Canada, for 500 points. One point is therefore worth 2 cents when you use that offer, and one dollar of merchandise returns 2 cents at the base earn, because you earned one point. The order subtotal after other discounts must be at least $10, and only one Beauty Insider Cash reward applies per transaction. A return does not give the 500 points or the $10 back. A Rouge Reward is different: $100 for 2,500 points, while supplies last, so 4 cents a point if you use the entire $100. You still earn only one point per dollar. The reward expires 90 days after the confirmation email, only one can be used per transaction, and unused value on a purchase under $100 is forfeited. Points are not refunded if you miss the 90 days. That higher rate is available to Rouge members and it is easy to waste. It is not a better program by itself.

PC Optimum's benefits table says every 10,000 points is like $10 of free stuff at Shoppers and at the grocery banners in that column. Fifteen points on one dollar are worth 1.5 cents at that rate: 15 divided by 10,000, times $10. Gas redemption is marked not applicable on that table. A spend-your-points event can change the value. The table's illustration, spend 10,000 points for $15, is an example of that kind of event, not a rate you can demand on an ordinary day. The banking guide is where that decision lives.

Be Well's stated redemption is 25,000 points for $10, so each point is worth 0.04 cents and ten points on one dollar are worth 0.4 cents. That is the base math from the two numbers on the Be Well page. A bonus offer can change it. If the offer is not in your account, do not add it.

Example with made-up inputs. The spend is a made-up $300 of eligible beauty in a year, with no bonus event and no tier perk beyond base earn. Beauty Insider Cash: 300 points, which is $6 at 500 points per $10. PC Optimum at the Shoppers base: 4,500 points, which is $4.50 at 10,000 points per $10. Be Well: 3,000 points, which is $1.20 at 25,000 points per $10. The bars differ because the published rates differ. The $300 is not your spending and not a survey. A discounted gift card changes what you paid for the products. It does not change these redemption formulas.

Event timing

Sephora says it may offer bonus-point events, each with its own terms. No calendar of those events is copied here. PC Optimum points events are real when they are loaded, and the homepage line checked 29 Sep 2026 ended 1 October. An in-store Moredays window of 1 to 7 October was marked coming soon on that same page. Neither line is a permanent beauty rate. Rexall bonus events were not copied, because a standing multiplier was not stated as a beauty rule on the Be Well page. Check the flyer you will shop with.

Stack a points event only onto a purchase you were already going to make. The replenish test is the Black Friday guide. A threshold that makes you add a product you will not use is a loss with points attached.

Birthday gifts and samples

Beauty Insider members can redeem one birthday gift a year during their birthday month. The terms say the gift options vary by tier and can differ between the United States and Canada. In a Sephora store, no purchase is required. On sephora.ca, the terms require a minimum merchandise purchase of $25, after discounts and after cash redemptions, excluding gift cards, taxes, and shipping. Gifts are while supplies last. Reselling them can put the membership at risk. A birthday gift is a sample you chose, not a reason to join if you will not shop there.

PC Optimum and Be Well birthday or sample offers were not stated on the pages checked 29 Sep 2026. See program terms. Shoppers gift-with-purchase, as a method, is the Shoppers beauty guide. A sample you will not use has no redemption value.

Which fits your spending pattern

Join the program attached to the store you already use. If your beauty spending is at Sephora, Beauty Insider's base math on the made-up $300 is the $6 line, and the free standard shipping the terms describe for members is a separate benefit with no cash value of its own. If your beauty spending is at Shoppers, the PC Optimum base is the $4.50 line, and a real points event or redemption event can move it. If your spending is at Rexall, the Be Well base is the $1.20 line until an offer you can see says otherwise. Splitting a small budget across all three usually means none of the thresholds, including VIB at $350 or Rouge at $1,000, do much work.

There is no winner. A household that already holds PC Optimum for groceries may value Shoppers beauty points because they redeem on groceries too, at the $10 per 10,000 points rate, which a Beauty Insider point does not. A household that wants a birthday gift and shops Sephora for colour cosmetics is answering a different question. Write your last twelve months of beauty spending by store. Then apply the rates above. If you cannot name the store, you cannot name the program.

Program terms checked 29 Sep 2026. Beauty Insider terms last updated 14 March 2024. Unknown cells say see program terms. Not a ranking.
Question Beauty Insider PC Optimum at Shoppers Rexall Be Well
Base earn on eligible beauty 1 point per Canadian dollar of merchandise 15 points per dollar on eligible products 10 points per $1 spent, on the Be Well page
Redemption quoted $10 off for 500 points, as Beauty Insider Cash. Rouge Reward is $100 for 2,500 points, with a 90-day limit Every 10,000 points is like $10. A points event can differ. See your account 25,000 points equal $10 redeemable cash value
Cents back per dollar at that base 2 cents, if redeemed as Beauty Insider Cash 1.5 cents at 10,000 points like $10 0.4 cents at 25,000 points for $10
Tiers Insider on enrolment. VIB at $350 in a calendar year. Rouge at $1,000 See program terms. The benefits table does not print beauty tiers See program terms. Not stated on the Be Well page checked 29 Sep 2026
Expiry Points expire after 12 months with no purchase or redemption See program terms. Not stated on the benefits table See program terms. Not stated on the Be Well page
Birthday or sample One birthday gift in your birthday month. In store, no purchase. On sephora.ca, $25 merchandise minimum See program terms. Gift-with-purchase method is on the Shoppers beauty guide See program terms
Example with made-up inputs: value returned on a made-up 300 dollar beauty spend at each program's base earn and redemption.
Example with made-up inputs. The $300 spend is made up. The rates are not: Beauty Insider Cash returns $6, PC Optimum at the Shoppers base returns $4.50, and Be Well returns $1.20. No bonus event is included. Not a ranking.

Sources & date stamps

  • Sephora Beauty Insider terms, sephora.com/ca/en/beauty/terms-conditions-beauty-insider, last updated 14 March 2024, checked 29 Sep 2026. Tiers at $350 and $1,000. One point per Canadian dollar. Beauty Insider Cash: $10 for 500 points. Rouge Reward: $100 for 2,500 points, 90 days, unused value forfeited. Points expire after 12 months without purchase or redemption. Birthday gift rules, including the $25 merchandise minimum on sephora.ca. Free standard shipping for members. Points have no cash value except where Sephora allows, including Beauty Insider Cash.
  • PC Optimum program benefits table, PDF on pcoptimum.ca, checked 29 Sep 2026. Shoppers base 15 points per dollar. Every 10,000 points is like $10. Points events are a separate row. Gas redemption not applicable.
  • Shoppers Drug Mart homepage, checked 29 Sep 2026. 20 times the points on $75 or more in cosmetics, fragrances, skin care, and beauty tools, ending 1 October. Moredays 1 to 7 October marked coming soon.
  • Rexall Be Well, rexall.ca/bewell, checked 29 Sep 2026. 10 points per $1. 25,000 points equal $10 redeemable cash value. Expiry and tier rules were not on that page.
  • The $300 annual spend is a made-up input. No beauty shelf price was used.

Frequently asked questions

Which beauty loyalty program is worth joining?

The one attached to the store where you already buy beauty you will finish. On a made-up $300 and the base rates in each program's terms, Beauty Insider Cash returns $6, Shoppers PC Optimum returns $4.50, and Be Well returns $1.20, with no bonus event. Those dollars use a made-up spend and the published base rates, and they are not a ranking. If you cannot name the store, joining all three does not create a strategy.

How much is a Beauty Insider point worth?

Under the terms last updated 14 March 2024, Beauty Insider Cash turns 500 points into a $10 discount in Canadian dollars when you redeem in Canada, so one point is worth 2 cents in that offer. You earn one point per Canadian dollar of merchandise, which is 2 cents back per dollar at that redemption. A Rouge Reward is $100 for 2,500 points, a higher rate with a 90-day expiry and a rule that unused value is forfeited. Points otherwise have no cash value.

How do Be Well points compare with PC Optimum?

On the pages checked 29 Sep 2026, Be Well is 10 points per dollar and 25,000 points for $10, which is 0.4 cents back per dollar at base, while PC Optimum at Shoppers is 15 points per dollar and 10,000 points like $10, which is 1.5 cents back per dollar at base. A loaded offer can change either figure. Expiry for both is a see-program-terms item on this page, except where a source above already states it. They are different points and they do not combine.

Should I split my beauty spending?

Split only if you already shop those stores for products you will use. VIB requires $350 in a calendar year and Rouge requires $1,000, in the Beauty Insider terms, so a small budget spread across three programs may hit none of those marks and still earn only the base rate in each. Write last year's spending by store before you open another app. A gift card discount does not change the earn rate.

Do points expire?

Beauty Insider points expire when you have not earned or redeemed for 12 months, under the terms last updated 14 March 2024, and a Rouge Reward value expires 90 days after the confirmation email. PC Optimum expiry was not stated on the benefits table checked 29 Sep 2026, and Be Well expiry was not stated on the Be Well page. See program terms for those two. Cancelled Sephora orders lose the points from that order.

More Personal Care guides Next: Shoppers beauty events