Personal Care · Canada

Free Beauty Samples in Canada: Legit Ways and Scams to Avoid

A free beauty sample is useful when it lets you test a product you might buy, from a brand or a retailer you can name, without handing over a card. It is a problem when the word free is the start of a subscription. This page separates the counter, the loyalty gift, and the card-for-shipping pattern the Canadian Anti-Fraud Centre describes. Trials and cancellations are the trial checklist and the dark-patterns guide. A charge you cannot find is the recurring-charges guide. Fakes are the counterfeit guide. Shoppers gifts with purchase are the Shoppers beauty guide.

Key takeaways

  • In-store testers and a sample the counter hands you do not need a credit card. If a free offer asks for a card, stop and read the terms.
  • Sephora's Beauty Insider terms, last updated 14 March 2024, allow one birthday gift a year. In store, no purchase is required. On sephora.ca, the terms require $25 of merchandise.
  • The Canadian Anti-Fraud Centre describes a free trial or gift that takes a card for shipping and handling, then bills a subscription until you cancel. The Centre's shipping example runs from $1.99 to $9.99. The subscription can be far larger.
  • Report that pattern to the Centre at 1-888-495-8501 and to local police if money moved. Ask your card issuer about the charge. This page does not state a bank's deadline.
  • A sample is a test. Buy the full size only if you will finish it. A sample is not a review and not a ranking.

In-store samples

A tester on a counter and a foil packet a staff member hands you are the cleanest samples. You are already in the store. You do not type a card number. You can see who employs the person. Use the tester on your hand or ask for a packet, then leave the full size until you know you will wear it. A sample that stains a sleeve or irritates skin is information. It is not a reason to buy the bottle the same day.

Write the product name and the date. Two weeks later, either you want the full size or you do not. If the store's return page allows an opened product back, that is a second safety net, and it is on that retailer's page, not a national rule. Do not collect packets you will not try. A bag of samples is not a routine.

Retailer program samples

A loyalty gift is a sample with rules. Sephora's Beauty Insider terms, last updated 14 March 2024 and checked 29 Sep 2026, say each member may redeem one birthday gift during the birthday month. Options can vary by tier and between Canada and the United States. In a Sephora store, no purchase is necessary. On sephora.ca, the basket needs at least $25 of merchandise, after discounts and cash redemptions, and that minimum excludes gift cards, taxes, and shipping. Supplies run out. The terms say reselling birthday gifts can lead to losing the membership. A gift you will not use is not a saving. Skip it.

Shoppers Drug Mart gift-with-purchase and points events are a different program. The method, without a copied flyer, is the Shoppers beauty guide. If a sample requires a spend, put that spend through the replenish test: would you have bought the paid item anyway? PC Optimum and Be Well birthday gifts are not described on this page. See those program terms. A points reward that is a deluxe sample follows the reward's own rules, including whether it can be returned. Sephora's terms say rewards generally cannot be returned for points or cash.

Brand sample offers

A brand sample is legitimate when you request it on the brand's own site or in the brand's store, the terms say what you will receive, and a card is not required for a product described as free. Read the terms for a later shipment or a club. If the page says the sample enrols you in refills, it is a subscription with a sample attached. Price the renewal, using the subscription-box guide, before you continue.

This guide does not promote a brand and does not list a current sample program. A program whose terms you have not read does not get a name here. An influencer code that sends you to a third-party checkout is not the brand's page until the address bar matches the company you think you are dealing with. Search the product on recalls-rappels.canada.ca if the sample is something you will put on your skin and the seller is unfamiliar.

Scam red flags

The Canadian Anti-Fraud Centre's page on subscription traps, checked 29 Sep 2026, describes this pattern. A free trial of a product, or a free gift for completing a survey, asks for a credit card to cover shipping and handling. The Centre says those delivery charges can vary from $1.99 to $9.99, and the subscription you did not mean to join can cost hundreds or thousands of dollars a month. The charges continue until you contact the company and cancel. That is the red flag: a card required for something called free, and terms that renew. Fake reviews are a reason to leave as well. They are not, by themselves, the Centre's definition. The Centre's report line is 1-888-495-8501. The report page says to contact local police if you are a victim, and that the Centre's phone lines answer Monday to Friday, 10 am to 4:45 pm Eastern time, except holidays.

Ontario's contract page, updated 1 April 2025, says you do not have to pay for goods or services you did not request, and that you can give notice to withdraw within one year if the business misrepresented what you were buying. Consumer Protection Ontario on that page is 1-800-889-9768. The same page warns that Consumer Protection Ontario will not call you first to offer help cancelling a contract. A caller who says that is the page's description of a phishing approach. Other provinces have their own offices. This is education, not legal advice.

If money has already moved, contact the card issuer and ask how they handle a charge you say you did not agree to. This guide does not state a number of days, because that deadline is the issuer's. Then cancel with the company in writing, report to the Anti-Fraud Centre, and report to local police if you are a victim. The recurring-charges guide is how you find a second charge after you think you have cancelled. The dark-patterns guide is the screen that hides the cancel button. Watch for a second contact that offers to recover the money for a fee. The Centre's victim page says fraudsters often return with a recovery pitch, and not to send recovery money.

Using samples to test before buying

A sample answers one question: will you finish a full size of this product? Wear it the way you would wear the bottle, for long enough to know, and write yes or no. A yes means you buy the size you will empty, at a price per millilitre or per use you calculated, from a seller you can return to if the full size differs from the sample. A no means you stop. A maybe means you do not buy a backup.

A sample is not a laboratory and not a review you should post as proof. It is also not a counterfeit check. If the full size you later see is sold as a luxury brand at a price you cannot reconcile, use the counterfeit guide before you pay. A dupe you sampled on purpose is a different product. Buy it under its own name. Do not let a free packet talk you into a set. The set still has to pass the used-value test on the gift-set guide.

Legit channels versus red flags. Anti-Fraud Centre subscription-trap description checked 29 Sep 2026. Sephora birthday rules from terms last updated 14 March 2024. Checked 29 Sep 2026.
Path What makes it legitimate Red flag
In-store tester or packet You are in the store. No card. You can see the staff Pressure to buy the full size before you have tried the sample at home
Loyalty birthday gift Sephora: one a year, in your birthday month. In store, no purchase. On sephora.ca, $25 merchandise minimum in the terms A second gift that asks for a card, or a site that is not Sephora's, using the same name
Brand sample on the brand's site The address is the brand's, the terms say what arrives, and free does not enrol you in refills A card required for a product called free. A renewal buried in the terms
Survey or social offer You can identify the company and the terms match a brand or retailer page The Anti-Fraud Centre's pattern: card for shipping of $1.99 to $9.99, then a subscription until you cancel
After a charge Cancel in writing, tell your card issuer, report to 1-888-495-8501 and to local police if you are a victim Anyone who asks you to pay a fee to get the money back
Flow chart for a free sample offer: if it asks for a card or hides a recurring charge, leave; otherwise request it from the brand or retailer page.
A free-sample offer asks two questions first: does it want a card, and do the terms include a recurring charge? Either yes means leave. Otherwise request the sample from the brand or retailer page you can name.

Sources & date stamps

  • Canadian Anti-Fraud Centre, Subscription trap and continuity, checked 29 Sep 2026. Free trial or gift for a survey, card for shipping and handling described as $1.99 to $9.99, subscription fees that can be hundreds or thousands of dollars a month until you cancel.
  • Canadian Anti-Fraud Centre, report page, checked 29 Sep 2026. Report online or call 1-888-495-8501, Monday to Friday, 10 am to 4:45 pm Eastern time, closed holidays. Contact local police if you are a victim. The victim page says not to send money to a recovery pitch.
  • Sephora Beauty Insider terms, last updated 14 March 2024, checked 29 Sep 2026. One birthday gift a year. No purchase in store. $25 merchandise minimum on sephora.ca. Rewards generally cannot be returned for points or cash.
  • Ontario, Your rights when signing or cancelling a contract, updated 1 April 2025, checked 29 Sep 2026. No payment owed for goods you did not request. One year to give notice after a misrepresentation. Consumer Protection Ontario 1-800-889-9768. The page says that office will not contact you first.
  • No brand sample program is named. No card-issuer deadline is stated.

Frequently asked questions

How do I get free beauty samples in Canada legitimately?

Use a tester or a packet in a store you can name, or a program whose terms you have read, such as Sephora's birthday gift under the terms last updated 14 March 2024. In a Sephora store that gift does not require a purchase, and on sephora.ca the terms require $25 of merchandise. A brand sample belongs on the brand's own site, with no card if the product is actually free. Skip any offer you cannot trace to that company.

Why does a free sample ask for my credit card?

Treat it as the pattern the Canadian Anti-Fraud Centre describes. A free trial or a gift for a survey asks for a card to cover shipping and handling, which the Centre says can be $1.99 to $9.99, and a subscription can then bill hundreds or thousands of dollars a month until you cancel. A legitimate in-store sample does not need a card. If the terms enrol you in refills, it is a subscription, not a free sample.

What is a subscription trap?

The Canadian Anti-Fraud Centre uses that name for a free trial or gift that takes your card and then keeps charging a subscription until you contact the company and cancel. The Centre's page, checked 29 Sep 2026, describes shipping charges from $1.99 to $9.99 and ongoing fees that can be much larger. Report it to 1-888-495-8501. Cancel in writing as well, using the trial checklist if a trial is what you joined.

How do I get a charge reversed?

Contact your card issuer and ask how they handle a charge you did not agree to, and this guide does not state the issuer's deadline. Also cancel with the company in writing, report to the Canadian Anti-Fraud Centre at 1-888-495-8501, and contact local police if you are a victim. In Ontario, the contract page says you do not have to pay for goods you did not request. Do not pay a stranger who offers to recover the money.

Are samples a good way to test before buying?

Yes, when the sample is the product you are considering and you give it enough wear to know if you will finish a full size. A yes means you buy the size you will empty, from a seller you can name, and a no means you stop. A sample is not a counterfeit test and not a reason to buy a set. Use the counterfeit guide if the full-size offer looks wrong, and the gift-set guide if a set is the upsell.

More Personal Care guides Next: Free-trial checklist